Getting it straight!

Well, I’ve tried – I straightened up the horizon of my background picture. Now I’ve reloaded it and messed around but can’t get it right. I didn’t think I had all the extra bits of picture down the sides before but, no matter what size I choose, it still isn’t right. I don’t know why I bothered. Now you can’t even see the horizon until you scroll down! I need another lesson. 

However, as I said before, I will try again until I get it right. 

Wonky pictures are a common sight in presentations. They occur when the projector is on a table that is lower than the screen. This leads to the search for large books to prop it up, usually more at the front than the back. The result of this is a distorted picture with the top being wider than the bottom and any people on the photographs looking as though they have entered one of those halls of mirrors that turn people into cartoon characters.  

Nobody wants their carefully prepared pictures to be distorted, so it is advisable to take a couple of boxes or a stool with you, which you know will help raise the projector to a level position in the event of the screen and table being at different heights. It is less likely that the opposite will occur with the screen being too low. Several volumes of an encyclopaedia will work just as well  – but you might find them a bit heavy to add to all the other equipment you are taking! There is probably a high-tech gadget that will solve the problem but I don’t know of one. Just be prepared for the eventuality.

About Rosemary the Chickerell Chirper

I'm a private teacher of piano, guitar and music theory. I am married with two grown sons who now have families of their own. I have five granddaughters, two in NZ and three in England, including one set of twins. Ever since I was very young I have wanted to write and have had some poems and articles published but would love to complete a novel. I give talks about various things to local groups and play organ and piano at our local Methodist Chapel where I also lead the choir.
This entry was posted in Delivery, Giving a talk, Preparation, Using equipment, Using technology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

